The EBDM initiative and its products represent the work of the funder, Initiative staff, and a multidisciplinary advisory committee.


The EBDM initiative is funded by the National Institute of Corrections.

Initiative Partners

Center for Effective Public Policy

The Carey Group

 Office of Justice Programs

Advisory Committee Members

The Honorable Shirley Abrahamson, Chief Justice Supreme Court of Wisconsin

Suzanne Brown-McBride, Deputy Director
Justice Center, Council of State Governments

Edwin Burnette, Chief Public Defender
Cook County, Illinois Public Defender’s Office

Gary Christensen, Principal
Corrections Partners, Inc.

Gary Darling, Director of Criminal Justice Services, Larimer County, Colorado

Adrian Garcia, Sheriff
Harris County, Texas Sheriff’s Office

Robert Johnson, Anoka County Attorney (Retired) Minnesota

The Honorable Dale Koch, Senior Judge
Multnomah County, Oregon

Sally Kreamer, Director
Fifth Judicial District (Iowa) Department
of Correctional Services

The Honorable Michael Marcus, Judge
Multnomah County Circuit Court

Carlos Martinez, Public Defender
Law Offices of the Public Defender, Miami, Florida

Peggy McGarry, Director
Center on Sentencing and Corrections, Vera Institute of Justice

Geraldine Nagy, Director
Travis County, Texas Community Supervision and Corrections Department

Wendy Niehaus, Director
Department of Pretrial Services,
Hamilton County, Ohio

Michael Planet, Executive Officer
Ventura County, California Superior Court

The Honorable Ronald Reinstein, Director
Center for Evidence Based Sentencing,
Arizona Supreme Court

Susan Shaffer, Director
District of Columbia Pretrial Services Agency

P. David Soares, District Attorney
Office of the District Attorney, Albany, New York

Mark Thompson, Judicial District Administrator
Hennepin County, Minnesota District Court

The Honorable Roger Warren, President Emeritus National Center for State Courts

Thomas White, Director of Operations (Retired) Court Support Services Division,
Connecticut Judicial Branch


NIC awarded a cooperative agreement to the Urban Institute, which worked in coordination with the Initiative team to evaluate the effectiveness of the technical assistance delivered to the sites during Phase II.